top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Hammond

Changes Coming!

The Spinning Angora is moving into new things. First we have a new bunny coming. She's a lovely doe harking back to German import lines. She has wonderful density and her dad is shearing at 390 grams so I hope she follows suit. No name yet...

Secondly- we sent our angora fiber to a mill for the very first time. I got behind spinning the fiber from my rabbits as I had commission spins to complete.

I needed to catch up as I am somewhat compulsive in at having fiber lying about. I researched a lot of mills and settled finally on a small brand new mill in Perry, Iowa- The Twisted Sunset Sisters Mill. Not only were they new with new equipment they were alpaca farmers with NO experience in angora. But they had no minimum weight required to process and were not adverse to not washing my already clean fiber. I have no experience with mills so we were a match made in heaven. I sent them fiber from my tort doe Trixie and my black doe Blackberry.

(Next 4 photos are from Twisted Sunset Sisters Fiber Mill)


They bought angora elsewhere to practice on. A little trialzand error and it was done! The skeins will be here tomorrow and I can hardly wait.


In the meantime I packed up a pound of Marshmallow for another order to send.

So if you are looking for a mill for your angora check out Twisted Sunset Sisters Fiber Mill.

So then- as happens- I sold out on raw fiber in my Etsy shop.


So now I'm starting all over again. I have some handspun yarns and drum carded batts available but everything else is sold or milled. Its a nice feeling.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page